Indian Railways Shares Update on Char Dham Project in Uttarakhand; Check Details, Photos Here


Indian Railways on Tuesday shared update of Char Dham railway project in Uttarakhand. Tweeting photos of the work it said that the project between Rishikesh-Karnaprayag is gaining momentum. “Char Dham Railway project between Rishikesh-Karnaprayag gains momentum: Catch glimpses of Piers coming up over Alaknanda River for this important project. It is the longest bridge (489mts) of the project. It shall connect Srinagar town to proposed Railway station,” Ministry of Railways tweeted.

(Image: Ministry of Railways)

Railways is speeding up the Char Dham railway project in Uttarakhand. The two major projects include connecting the four important spots of the Char Dham Yatra and the broad gauge line to connect the city of Rishikesh and Karnaprayag.

(Image: Ministry of Railways)

Minister of State for Railways Darshana Jardosh had recently visited the state to take note of rail projects currently underway. He had also visited the site of the Rishikesh-Karnaprayag project and reviewed the tunnel work and broad gauge line.

During her visit, Jardosh promised an all-round development of the rail network in Uttarakhand. Both the rail projects will help thousands of pilgrims and tourists, who visit the state, save both time and travel expenses.


All the four dhams — Kedarnath, Badrinath, Gangotri and Yamunotri — will be connected through a rail network as part of the project. The very first step of the primary engineering survey has been completed and the report has also been submitted. The final location survey is in the process to analyse whether the rail network can be laid at the place.

(Image: Ministry of Railways)

The project of a new broad gauge rail line between Rishikesh and Karnaprayag is also said to be very important for Uttarakhand. The rail link will be helpful for several pilgrimages to the state as it will save both time and travel expenses and it will also boost the industrial development in the area.

(Image: Ministry of Railways)

The rail line will connect the towns Devprayag, Srinagar, Rudraprayag, Gauchar and Karnaprayag, which will be a link connecting five districts i.e. Dehradun, Tehri, Pauri, Rudraprayag and Chamoli.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Written by Anupam Singh

WHO Warns of Omicron Overload as China, Europe Impose New Curbs

Tally Rises to 781, Delhi Sees Maximum Infections at 238, Mumbai at 167