Connect with us


India: States and Capitals 2021




India States and Capitals 2021

India: States and Capitals 2021– India is the seventh largest country in the world with a total area of 3,287,263 square kilometres (1,269,219 sq mi). It measures 3,214 km (1,997 mi) from north to south and 2,933 km (1,822 mi) from east to west. It has a land frontier of 15,200 km (9,445 mi) and a coastline of 7,516.6 km (4,671 mi). Also it is positioned 2nd after China, in population index. It is officially known as the Republic of India and lies in southern hemisphere of Asia and is governed by a parliamentary form of government. It gets very difficult to manage such a large country from one place. So the Indian Constitution gives right to the central government to make states as it feels suitable. This article talks about the list of States and Capitals of India with the founded year.

List of States and Capitals of India

As a responsible citizen one should and must know about the States and capitals of India. The states and the capitals are very commonly asked as the General Awareness Questions in a number of competitive exams held all over the country. The 28 Indian States and their capitals are as follows.

States and Capitals of India 2021

S.NoStates NameCapitalFounded on
1Andhra PradeshHyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)1 Nov. 1956
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar20 Feb. 1987
3AssamDispur26 Jan. 1950
4BiharPatna26 Jan. 1950
5ChhattisgarhRaipur*1 Nov. 2000
6GoaPanaji30 May. 1987
7GujaratGandhinagar1 May. 1960
8HaryanaChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
9Himachal PradeshShimla25 Jan. 1971
10JharkhandRanchi15 Nov. 2000
11KarnatakaBengaluru (formerly Bangalore)1 Nov. 1956
12KeralaThiruvananthapuram1 Nov. 1956
13Madhya PradeshBhopal1 Nov. 1956
14MaharashtraMumbai1 May. 1960
15ManipurImphal21 Jan. 1972
16MeghalayaShillong21 Jan. 1972
17MizoramAizawl20 Feb. 1987
18NagalandKohima1 Dec. 1963
19OdishaBhubaneswar26 Jan. 1950
20PunjabChandigarh1 Nov. 1956
21RajasthanJaipur1 Nov. 1956
22SikkimGangtok16 May. 1975
23Tamil NaduChennai26 Jan. 1950
24TelanganaHyderabad2 Jun. 2014
25TripuraAgartala21 Jan. 1972
26Uttar PradeshLucknow26 Jan. 1950
27UttarakhandDehradun (Winter)
Gairsain (Summer)
9 Nov. 2000
28West BengalKolkata1 Nov. 1956

* Chhattisgarh’s proposed capital, Naya Raipur, will now be named Atal Nagar after former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the state government decided. 

Union Territories and Capitals

At Present we have 28 States and 8 Union Territories in India. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UTs) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under the reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020.

Union Territories CapitalFounded on
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
DelhiNew Delhi9 May. 1905
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct. 2019
LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
LadakhLeh31 Oct. 2019

States and Capitals of India Map

Let’s check the latest political map of India to get the pictorial information and the total number of states + union territories and their capitals as of March 2021.


Important Points of States and UT

let us now understand how to segregate a state from a union territory. Out of the eight union territories , three have their own legislatures these are Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry) and Jammu and Kashmir. Each union territory and state has a capital of its own.

StateUnion Territories
The state has its own administrative units with their own elected government.Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
Executive Head is the GovernorExecutive Head is the President
The relationship with the Centre is Federal.Unitary with the Centre. i.e. all the powers rests in the hands of Union.
Administered by the Chief Minister and elected by the people.Administered by the Administrator which is appointed by the President. ( except Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu & Kashmir)
Chief Minister is the real head.Lieutenant is the real head.

States and Capitals of India: UT Updates

Before we get into the Union Territories and their capitals, let us first have a look at the recent updates on UT’s as of March 2021.

  1. Since 26th January 2020, India has 8 union territories. The U.T Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli have become a single union territory.
  2. On August 5, the central government had also announced the abrogation of the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir under Article 370 and its division into two Union Territories i.e. UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.
  3. With the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UT’s has come down to eight.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *